We propose this travel guide to visit Paris in three days where the most famous places were included and some recommendations do not waste a minute of time
Arrived to Visit Paris on train to the station of Paris Gare du Nord from London. We took a public transport ( Metro).Luckily the hotel was very close.
Before starting, I commented that there is an option for those who do not intend to walk: make a City Tour hop on-hop off, of which you can tour the main points of the city for one or two days. In Paris there are two very good companies: Big Busand City Sigthseeing
We will start our route at the Arc de Triomphe (Charles de Gaulle-Etoile metro: lines 1, 2 and 6). We advise climbing to have a panoramic view of Paris. Once up, you can see the large avenues that start from here dividing the center of Paris, the financial district of La Defense and the famous Eiffel Tower.
You can know the history of a building through the works of its builders. This is the History of the architects of the Castle of Chenonceau.
The castle we know today was built on the demolition of an old fortress and a fortified mill owned by the Marques family. From that time only the tribute tower that was modified in the style of the time and its new owners survives. It was built by Thomas Bohier, Intendant General of Finance of King Francisco I of France between 1513 and 1521. The main part is rectangular (50 x 55 meters) where the hallways and rooms are. In charge of overseeing the construction was his wife Katherine Briçonnet, since her husband was busy with the matter in court.
Gardens and architects of the castle of chenonceau
At the death of Mr. Thomas Bohier the crown ordered an audit of the kingdom’s finances. The results were charges against Thomas Bohier for misappropriating funds against the crown, for which his assets were expropriated. The crown recovered the royal dominion over the castle and at the same time King Francisco I gave it to his favorite Diana de Poitiers, Duchess of Valentinois.
As of that moment the destiny of the Chenonceau castle was marked by the presence of six more women. Here we detail them and the brands that they printed until today, the most visited castle in France.
Diana de Poitiers 1499 – 1566
King Henry II gave the Chateau de Chenonceau to his favorite, Diana de Poitiers in 1547. Diana commissioned Pacello da Mercoliano to design and build the gardens, which were the most beautiful of that time. The architect Philibert de l’Orme was entrusted with the task of building a bridge over the cher river in order to extend the gardens to the other shore. Diana de Poitiers managed to get Francisco I of France to settle in the place next to the whole court.
Henry II, King of France, died of injuries caused accidentally while participating in a tournament in 1559. Catherine de Médicis, wife of the deceased monarch, became the regent of the Kingdom of France, since her children were younger than age. Catherine forced Diana de Poitiers to cede the property of the castle to the crown in exchange for another nearby Chateau: Chaumont-sur-Loire. It expanded the existing gardens and improved the building’s body with reforms.
It was at that time (1576-1577) that the double-story gallery where the parties were organized was built by one of the architects of the Castle of Chenonceau: Jean Bullant. The gallery was built on the bridge and is the aspect that can be seen today. From the green cabinet being regent, Catherine de ‘Medici was in charge of the affairs of the Kingdom of France.
It should be noted that the original plans and designs of the gallery belonged to the architect Philibert de l’Orme, who had built the bridge. The gallery is 60 meters long and 6 meters wide. It has 18 Windows, floor of mosaics of tuff and slate, shaped like a chessboard. It was inaugurated in 1577 during the celebrations organized by Catherine de Médicis in honor of her son King Henry III of France.
Luisa de Lorraine 1553 – 1601
Henry III King of France and son of Catherine de Médicis, died in 1589. His wife Luisa de Lorraine retired to the castle of Chenonceau wearing the usual white mourning (label of the time). He lived until his death in the castle almost without leaving it. After Luisa de Lorena there was no more presence of the Crown of France in Chenonceau. It was already in private hands. By inheritance of Luisa de Lorraine the castle was inherited by César de Vendôme and his wife, Francesca de Lorraine, Duchess of Vendôme. For the next 100 years, it was inherited through the Valois family.
Louise Dupin 1706 – 1799
In 1720 it was bought by the Duke of Bourbon who sold them works of art and statues of Chenonceau. Some of them went to the Palace of Versailles. In the summer of 1733, Claude Dupin bought the castle of Chenonceau from the Duke of Bourbon. His wife, Louise Dupin in organized meetings and gatherings with writers, poets and scientists. Voltaire and Rosseau were regular. During the French Revolution and under its administration, Chenonceau was preserved.
Marguerite Pelouze bought the Château de Chenonceau in 1867, which at that time had 136 hectares of land. I buy it at 850,000 francs. Then he decided to restore the castle as in the time of Diana de Poitiers. The works were carried out from 1867 to 1878 by the architect Félix Roguet. During this restoration almost all the changes made by Catherine de Médicis were eliminated.
In 1879, Claude Debussy joined the chenonceau orchestra as a pianist, with the purpose of completing the castle’s small chamber orchestra. Debussy spends almost all that summer in Chenonceau. One thinks that the sculptor Jean-Baptiste Gustave Deloye, was the author of the caryatids (Column in the form of feminine sculpture) of the castle.
In 1888, Marguerite Pelouze, already separated from her husband, filed for bankruptcy and sold the Chenonceau castle. Acquired by Crédit Foncier, and sold in 1891 to Mr. José Émilio Terry, deputy of Cuba in the Spanish Cortes. His family will retain the property of castilool until 1913
Simonne Menier 1881 – 1972
The Terry family in 1913 sells Chenonceau to industrial Henri Menier (1853-1913). The Menier family is the owner of the castle today. During the First World War, a hospital for the war-wounded was set up in Chenonceau, funded by Mr. Gaston Menier (1880-1933). Simone Menier, wife of Georges, as head nurse, administered the hospital that installed 120 beds in two of the Galeries of the castle.
In a room in the castle of Chenonceau X-ray machines were adapted an X-ray machine. Also 2,254 soldiers were treated at that hospital during WWI. After the war, the equipment was dismantled and stored for years. Decades later in an auxiliary room of the castle, the hospital was assembled again and turned into a museum
Military Hospital of the Chenonceau Castle
Second World War The main gallery, the covered bridge that crosses the river Cher, was used during the Second World War by the French resistance. The castle was used for people to escape to Free France, taking advantage of the fact that it was on the border. It turns out that south entrance faced France Vichy “free”. and the rest of the castle was in the area occupied by Nazi Germany.
The castle during World War II suffered some damages by bombing of both sides, damaging in a total way the windows and vitreaux. These stained glass windows were repaired after the fight was over.
There were several illustrious visitors after its opening to the public in 1952. Among them we can mention the Queen of England Elizabeth II, her son Carlos and Diana Diana, Princess of Wales. Also the president of the United States Harry Truman visited Chemonceau.
In the Castle shop you can buy souvenirs of the visit, books and vintage posters
Summing up The architects of the Castle of Chenonceau, were:
Felix Roguet Philibert de l’Orme Jean Bullant Pacello da Mercoliano
Ajaccio is not only the birthplace of Napoleon but also has its own attractions and with great charm. A historic center where you can walk through ancient streets where colorful houses abound.
A walls of an ancient citadel. An ideal place to see all the colors of a late Mediterranean sunset. City located in a bay surrounded by mountains, with a mild and pleasant climate all year round. Ajaccio offers a relaxed lifestyle.
What to see in Ajaccio
1-The birthplace of Napoleon Bonaparte: is the house where the BuonaParte family lived (Bonaparte) and where Napoleon was born on August 15, 1769. It is decorated with furniture from that time and many family objects have been preserved (portraits , the genealogical tree, the mortuary mask of the Emperor of France).
2-The Fesch Museum: this museum exhibits the collection of paintings collected by Cardinal Joseph Fesch, uncle of Napoleon. It is one of the most important Italian paintings of the fourteenth to nineteenth centuries, with about 15,000 works. It includes paintings by Sandro Botticelli, Titian and other artists of the Italian Renaissance.
3-The History Museum of Corsica: It is located in the center of the city. The museum presents unique documents, weapons and dresses, ancient coins, plans. Everything is related to the history of Corsica. It is dedicated to the main figures of Corsa History such as Sampiero Corso, Pasquale Paoli and Napoleón Bonaparte.
Casamaccioli is located in the region of Niolu, a hill in the interior of Corsica, to the north and also surrounded by mountains. Just 20 miles separate from Corte, the old capital of the island.
It is one of the highest and most isolated villages on the island. However, on a special date that is September 8, there is a crowd of people
The date of the birth of the Virgin Mary attracts thousands of people to this mountain town, because here the most important religious festival of Corsica is celebrated: A Santa di u Niolu
When arriving at Casamaccioli, in the square in front of the church painted yellow, the procession starts. The bishop goes to the front followed by the wooden madonna and behind several religious brotherhoods
The procession passes next to several stalls with Corsican culinary specialties, such as Prisutu ham, as soft as lard. Also the lonzu which is a dried sausage outdoors, made from the meat of semi-wild pigs. It highlights calenzana, a milky goat cheese that has a spicy aroma and flavor. The corsa kitchen does not contain the brocciu, a soft fresh cheese made from goat or sheep milk. The farmers and merchants in Casamaccioli sell it in all its forms and variants imaginable
The macchia, is the eternally green Mediterranean scrub in Corsica, and covers more than half the surface of the island. Also spreads through the air the aroma of thyme, rosemary, basil and other natural essences.
Napoleon Bonaparte, the emperor of France and the most famous Corsican, said that with his eyes blindfolded he could recognize every corner of the island only for its aromas and fragrances.
The migliacci are tortillas baked with fresh brocciu cheese and are a real delicacy. Pietra is a beer made locally. Sip, a little sweet, made of chestnuts . Something different from the bitter flavors that we are used to in beers.
Chestnut is the star product of the island. The islanders use chestnut flour as a basis for numerous dishes and products. For some years it has even been used to make and ferment whiskey.
When to Travel Corsica
Corsica has a Mediterranean climate with dry and very hot summers on the coast. In winter, the climate on the coast is temperate and humid. But in the mountains of the interior of the island it is usual to be covered with snow until well into spring. The best time to visit the island is between the months of May and September
How to get Travel to Corsica the Island of Napoleon
By plane to Bastia and rent a car there. You can also reach Bastia by ferry from Nice. Information about the ferry itinerary: www.corsica-ferries.de. accommodation
On the island there are many good hotels, resorts and holiday homes. You can consult them here
Saint Moritz – Switzerland: Meadows, Snow and Mountains
Saint Moritz (Sank Moritz) , located in the south-east of Switzerland, in the region known as Upper Engadine ,. The site is known worldwide for the celebration here of two winter games: 1928 and 1948.
Sankt Moritz (St. Moritz) was mentioned for the first time in the 12th century. It was a village that was formed around springs, which according to beliefs of the time had healing powers. The village is named after Saint Maurice, who according to legend was a martyred Christian in Roman Switzerland.
History of Saint Moritz
Caspar Badrutt, born in Samedan in 1819, emigrated as a child to Saint Moritz with his family and in 1858 he founded a hotel, antecedent of the current Hotel Kulm. In 1864 according to oral legends, he invited a group of Englishmen to his hotel with the condition that if they did not enjoy it, I would reimburse them for travel expenses. The visitors arrived and stayed more than six months.
A city with two dominant colors.White in winter and green in summer. Wet and slippery streets in winter, but with a lot of style and charm. . Impressive landscapes in summer with trails for trekking or excursions. We tell you how to enjoy the Meadows, Snow and Mountains in Saint Moritz
Sports: Summers & Winters
In summer the Saint Moritz lake is full of water and sports activities. The lake it freezes and is also the scene of recreational activities. In 1907 a horse race was run on the frozen lake. They also practice other sports on ice such as polo (on the frozen lake), cricket, hockey and cross-country skiing.
The lower part of the city concentrates the more than 5000 inhabitants of the city. We found the El Badrutt’s Palace, it is a hotel managed by five generations. The hotel opened its doors in 1896 and its creator, was one of the sons of Caspar Badrutt
Walking Saint Moritz
You can visit the town on foot in two hours. We start with Via Maistra, pedestrian in its first part. In this street there is a leaning tower that dates from 1570, although it is only 12 feet high and a slope of about four degrees. It was part of the old church of San Mauricio, destroyed in 1890. In the surroundings there are still some tombs.
Nearby is the monument to the “crest corridor”, the local sport. It is practiced on a natural snow track that has its starting point where this bronze image is located. The event is held annually every winter since 1885.
The track is built new, every January, is almost one mile long and a slope between 1 and almost 10 degrees and a difference between origin and arrival of 2 yards
Walking along the Via del Bagn you reach the Engadiner Museum, which allows you to get to know the life of the city in different periods. It is approximately one hour of travel. Price 20 dollars (13 Swiss Francs) and children under 16 years are free. Tuesday closed.
Funicular: Meadows, Snow and Mountains in Saint Moritz
On the way to the mountain you can use the funicular railway linking Saint Moritz with the Corviglia ski center. The price is about US $ 60 per person per day. The snow pits of Corviglia are considered one of the most important in Europe. It has options for all levels including children. The Alpina Hütte center, close to the funicular station, closes from April to June.
On the way back, at the Chantarella transfer station, there is one last attraction. Half a mile away from the station is Heidi’s cabin. Here the film of this child character was filmed. Access is free and the walk to the place does not take more than 30 minutes.
Bernina Express: Panoranic Railway
Another way to enjoy the meadows, snow and mountains in Saint Moritz: Next to the lake Saint Moritz is the railway station. There is the terminal of two panoramic trains. Glacier Express and Bernina Express. Today we are going to talk about the latter because it is what we take to get to sank motitz. We did it from the station of Tirano (Italy).
After a journey of more than two hours through amazing landscapes, precipices, tunnels, bridges, lakes and snow, you will reach Saint Moritz. It is advisable to do it as much as if you are passing through or hiking. here the pictures of the train trip.
How to get there and where to stay
To Get: from anywhere in the world:
Naples or Rome Airport (Italy). Train or Fly to Milan (Italy). From Milan Train to the Main Station of Tirano (Italy) The Bernina Express train departs from that station
Zurich Airport (Switzerland). From there train to Chur 1h 15 min of trip and from there to St. Moritz 2h of trip plus the time of connection between trains
On the second day we started walking along the Main Street – Calle Mayor (we passed the chocolate shop San Gines for those who have not yet had breakfast) until the Mercado de San Miguel ( see Map). This is one of the oldest markets in Madrid and is awarded as it was in its golden age.
At the end of the main street we find the Cathedral of Almudena, which is the Metropolitan Cathedral of Madrid. It began to be built in 1879 and officially ended in 1993. It can be visited every day and it is traveled in approximately one hour
Next to the Almudena Cathedral is the Royal Palace of Madrid. At this time, it is not the residence of the King of Spain, but only acts of protocol. It began to contribute in 1738 and was completed in 1764. It has 3418 rooms and is larger than the Palace of Versailles on the outskirts of Paris –France
Royal Palace of Madrid
In 2016, the Royal Palace received more than 1.4 million visitors, being one of the most visited monuments in Spain. It can be visited with or without a guided tour, every day from October to March: Every day from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. From April to September: Every day: from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Price Adults: € 10. (Guided tour € 14). Duration of the visit approx 1 hour.
Plaza de Oriente
Leaving the Royal Palace and crossing the Plaza de Oriente is the sober building of the Royal Theater (Teatro Real) built between 1818 and 1850 and restored in 1991. It is a very interesting building and can be visited with guided tour given time. Next to the Royal Palace you can visit the royal gardens, called Jardines de Sabatini and Jardines de Campo del Moro. this walk can last approximately one hour.
Leaving the Jardines de Sabatini, and walking north along Bailen Street, a few blocks away we reach Plaza España, where the monuments to Cervantes, Don Qujote and Sancho Panza are located
The Temple of Debod was inaugurated on July 20, 1972 after two years of reconstruction. It was a complicated process since, in addition to not having good plans, in the dismantling and transport some stones were lost. The temple has two floors, in the upper you will find a very interesting model where you will see all the temples that were in the country of Nubia. Admission is free
If you have some time, a few meters ahead (see map) is located in the Parque del Oeste and is one of the largest rose gardens in Europe. Also in the same park there is a cable car where you can appreciate magnificent views of the city. End walking Madrid Second day